Last updated: October 25, 2026
MySweetOne earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no added cost to you. The Affiliate Disclosure lists the programs. Specifications come from manufacturer pages and published reviews; the site does not buy or test the products.
No dog tracker that works anywhere on a cell network is free to run, because the network charge is the subscription. The trackers that skip the fee use a radio link between the collar and a handheld or phone. They work without cell service, and they only work within radio range of whoever holds the receiver. For a dog that hunts or roams acreage, the Garmin Alpha 10 handheld with a TT 25 collar is the best pick. Garmin lists up to 9 miles of range with a compatible handheld.
Check the Garmin Alpha 10 price on Amazon
Comparison table
| Tracker | Best for | How it locates | Range, maker claim | Receiver | Battery | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Garmin Alpha 10 handheld with Alpha TT 25 collar | Large or small dogs on open land | GPS collar, VHF radio to handheld | Up to 9 miles, line of sight | Alpha 10 handheld, sold separately | TT 25 up to 68 hours (dynamic updates); Alpha 10 up to 20 hours | Handheld $399.99; collar $349.99 |
| Dogtra Pathfinder 2 | Dogs 35 pounds and up, phone-based map | GPS collar, radio to a connector, Bluetooth to a phone | 9 miles, varies with surroundings | GPS connector and the free PF2 app | Dogtra does not state one | $429.99 |
| Dogtra Pathfinder 2 Mini | Smaller dogs, phone-based map | GPS collar, radio to a connector, Bluetooth to a phone | 4 miles, varies with surroundings | GPS connector and the free PF2 app | Dogtra does not state one | $429.99 |
Prices are the Amazon listing prices on October 25, 2026, and they change often. Confirm the current price on the listing.
Best overall: Garmin Alpha 10 with an Alpha TT 25 collar
Garmin lists up to 9 miles of VHF range between the TT 25 collar and a compatible handheld, with line of sight giving the best signal. Garmin lists the collar at up to 68 hours on its standard battery in dynamic update mode, and up to 136 hours with an extended pack sold separately. The collar carries a 1 ATM water rating, which is 10 meters of depth. The Alpha 10 runs up to 20 hours and is rated IPX7. The handheld can also connect to a compatible phone.
The handheld and collar are sold separately, and the two Amazon prices add up to about $750. Reviewers name that combined cost as the main drawback. Garmin’s own pages do not state a neck size for the TT 25, and one retailer lists 11.5 to 22 inches, so confirm the fit for your dog before buying.
Garmin Alpha 10 handheld on Amazon
Garmin Alpha TT 25 collar on Amazon
Best phone-based option for larger dogs: Dogtra Pathfinder 2
Dogtra lists a 9 mile range and says the range varies with surroundings. The set costs $429.99 and has no subscription, since the connector uses a free app over Bluetooth. Dogtra lists the collar at 6.6 ounces and for dogs of 35 to 100 pounds or more, with a minimum neck of 12.5 inches. It is rated IPX9K.
Dogtra does not publish a battery runtime. Two reviewers estimate about 8 hours and 10 to 14 hours, which conflict. Published reviews report heavy reliance on the phone and an app that drops its connection or stalls after updates, and two reviews say the battery is shorter than Garmin’s.
Best for smaller dogs: Dogtra Pathfinder 2 Mini
The Mini lists 4 miles of range and a 5.3 ounce collar, with a minimum neck of 11 inches. Dogtra’s page gives two dog-size figures, 15 pounds and up in the specifications and 25 pounds and up in the description, so check the fit for a small dog. It uses the same free app, is rated IPX9K, and costs $429.99. No battery runtime is published for it either.
Dogtra Pathfinder 2 Mini on Amazon
What an AirTag does and does not do
An Apple AirTag has no GPS receiver. It sends a Bluetooth signal, and nearby Apple devices relay its position to iCloud. Its battery lasts over a year and it carries an IP67 rating. A dog in a rural area with no passing iPhones may show no fresh location. Apple’s page does not describe it as a pet tracker.
What none of these can do
The radio trackers cannot show your dog’s position from home or from another town. They cannot send an escape alert to a family member who is out of range. A dog that is out of radio range shows no location until you get back within it. A cellular tracker covers that case, and the price is a plan.
Is a subscription worth paying for?
A dog that escapes a yard and runs through a neighborhood suits a cellular collar better than a radio unit. Fi lists plans of $99 for 6 months, $189 for one year, and $339 for two years on its Series 3+ and newer collars, with a minimum six-month commitment. Fi lists a battery life of up to 3 months. Halo lists three membership tiers starting at $9.99 a month for Bronze, with the annual option charging for 11 months, and a battery life of up to 48 hours.
The full first-year and three-year totals for four cellular trackers are in the subscription cost comparison.
How this page was put together
Each specification comes from manufacturer material or published reviews, as the Editorial Policy describes. Commission rates do not set the order of the picks.