Litter-Robot 4 vs PETKIT: Which Self-Cleaning Box?

Last updated: November 1, 2026

MySweetOne earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no added cost to you. The Affiliate Disclosure lists the programs. Specifications come from manufacturer pages and published reviews; the site does not buy or test the products.

The Litter-Robot 4 costs about twice as much as the PETKIT Purobot Max 3 and the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs less still, so the choice is mostly about price and cat size. The Litter-Robot 4 takes cats up to 25 pounds and serves up to four. PETKIT lists the Max 3 for cats from 3.3 to 22 pounds.

Check the Litter-Robot 4 price on Amazon

Comparison table

FeatureLitter-Robot 4PETKIT Purobot Max 3PETKIT PuraMax 2
Amazon price$699.00$369.99$299.99
MechanismRotating globe with siftingRotating drum, 76 LRotating drum, 76 L
Cat weight3 to 25 pounds3.3 to 22 pounds, 6 months and olderFrom 3.3 pounds, maximum conflicts between 17.6 and 22 pounds
Cats suitedUp to 4Not statedNot stated; one box per cat plus one is advised
Waste drawerVolume not stated; empty about every 7 to 10 days7 L side bin; up to 15 days for one cat7 L sealed bin; up to 15 days for one cat
LitterClumping clay; some silica; no tofu or non-clumpingClumping clay, tofu, mixed; no crystal or non-clumpingMost clumping litters; no crystal or non-clumping
AppOptional; runs from a control panel without itOptional; top panel covers the basicsOptional for the clean cycle; scheduling and logs need it
Battery backupSold separately, 24 to 48 hours of reserve powerNot statedNot stated
Paid serviceWhisker+ is optionalNone for the deviceNone mentioned
Odor filterCarbon filter every 2 to 4 weeksN50 cartridge about every 30 days, $19.99 for 3N50 cartridge about every 30 days, $19.99 for 3
Warranty1 year, 3 years with a $129 extension per Whisker2 years on US purchases through PETKIT or authorized distributors2 years per PETKIT’s warranty page; the manual says 1 year

Prices are the Amazon listing prices on November 1, 2026, and they change often. Specifications come from Whisker and PETKIT pages and manuals, with figures left out where sources disagree.

Choose the Litter-Robot 4 for large cats or several cats

Whisker lists a 3 to 25 pound cat range and a limit of four cats. Laser and weight sensors watch the globe, and the app shows a 7-day visit and weight history per cat. Whisker+ adds longer history and trends for a fee, and Whisker states the app is not required for the machine to run. A backup battery kit is sold separately. The standard warranty is 1 year and covers accidental damage, power surges and mechanical failure, and an extended 3-year plan costs $129 if bought in the first year.

The recurring complaints in published reviews are the $699 price and a globe interior that is tight for large cats. Reviewers also note ongoing carbon filter costs. Whisker lists a 90-day in-home trial, and the buyer pays return shipping.

Litter-Robot 4 on Amazon

Choose the PETKIT Purobot Max 3 for a lower price with tofu litter

The Purobot Max 3 uses a 76 liter drum and a 7 liter side-mounted waste bin. PETKIT lists 12 anti-pinch sensors and an odor system with a replaceable N50 cartridge. It supports tofu and mixed litters, which the Litter-Robot does not. The PETKIT lists a 2-year warranty for US purchases through its own store or authorized distributors, and says third-party sellers such as Amazon follow their own return policy, so check the warranty terms on the Amazon listing.

One published review of this model was found. It notes that deep cleaning is fiddly, that the box has no camera, and that the running cost of cartridges and liners adds up.

PETKIT Purobot Max 3 on Amazon

Choose the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for the lowest price

The PuraMax 2 has the same 76 liter drum and 7 liter sealed bin and costs $299.99 on Amazon. It runs its clean cycle without the app, while scheduling, logs and alerts need it. PETKIT’s documents give maximum cat weights of 17.6, 18 and 22 pounds, so a cat near that range needs a check with PETKIT support first.

Two or more reviews report that it is bulky, hard to deep clean, does not take crystal litter, and is unsuited to kittens under about 6 months.

PETKIT PuraMax 2 on Amazon

What none of these do

None of the three works with crystal or non-clumping litter in every version, and none replaces a vet visit, because the weight readings are not a medical measure. A cat that avoids a rotating globe or drum may refuse all three. Whisker and PETKIT both ask that the machine be set on a hard, level floor.

A box with a camera is a different product. PETKIT sells the Purobot Max Pro 2 with an AI camera at $494.99 on Amazon, and this page did not compare it. A Tom’s Guide review of that model found the interior cramped for two 15 pound cats. Feeders with a camera are in the feeder guide.

How this page was put together

Each specification comes from manufacturer pages and manuals or from published reviews, as the Editorial Policy describes. Where sources disagree, the page names the conflict. Commission rates do not set the order of the picks.